Less McTeague, More Precis & Pudd’nhead

Instead of talking about McTeague and naturalism for this weeks blog post, I’ve decided to talk about the struggle of the Precis. I did not think it would be as hard as it is to do this. The level of writing and opinions make it a challenging read. However, it presented me a great opportunity. I am choose to do my Precis on Twain, race, technology, and the ‘hypermediacy’ of it all. Not only is it interesting, it presents a wonderful source for my second paper, too. It talks alot about nurture; specifically Twain’s intentions behind what he wrote and what he intended it to be.

Therefore, I think it will be much easier to do my paper as opposed to my precis. Part of the reason for this is the word limitation: I love longer essays like paper 2, at least 2000 words so i can say what I want to say. 2 pages double typed is just waaaay too little a word count. Anyway, I digress.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Less McTeague, More Precis & Pudd’nhead

  1. mnowack3 says:

    I haven’t actually started my Precis, but from the assignment sheet it looks like it might be challenging. I also haven’t exactly figured out what to do on my second paper- although I’m leaning towards the in context option. I also like longer essay- mostly because I don’t have to be quite as concise. Plus I like to play with comma’s and dashes and all sorts of fun things.

  2. I agree: a precis is a challenging thing to write, but once you get used to writing precis-length pieces, it becomes easier to keep track of all the criticism that you read.

Leave a comment